News | Published October 26 2019

General Election: The MPs standing down

Following Boris Johnson’s announcement that he will push for a December 12 election, we have collated a list of all the MPs who have announced they will stand down at the next election.

Following parliament’s rejection of the government’s timetable to push through its Brexit deal, Johnson has switched tack and called for a Christmas election. He will offer MPs more time to debate his withdrawal agreement if they agree to support an election of December 12. 

The government is planning to table a vote on this proposition on Monday, providing the EU offers a Brexit delay.

In preparation, many constituencies are currently selecting their prospective candidates. Many sitting MPs, from across the House, have already announced they will be standing down. The Speaker, John Bercow, has also announced he will be standing down and prospective candidates for the role have begun to detail their plans if they were chosen.

A full list can be found below:


Kate Hoey - Vauxhall

Kevin Barron - Rother Valley

Paul Farrelly - Newcastle-under-Lyme

Roberta Blackman-Woods - City of Durham

Albert Owen - Ynys Mon

Ann Clwyd - Cynon Valley

Geoffrey Robinson - Coventry North West

Ronnie Campbell - Blyth Valley

Stephen Pound - Ealing North

Stephen Twigg - Liverpool West Derby

Teresa Pearce - Erith and Thamesmead

Gloria De Piero - Ashfield

Ian Lucas - Wrexham

Jim Fitzpatrick - Poplar and Limehouse

John Mann - Bassetlaw

Owen Smith - Pontypridd 

Helen Jones - Warrington North

Louise Ellman - Liverpool Riverside

Adrian Bailey - West Bromwich West


Nicky Morgan - Loughborough

Bill Grant - Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock

David Tredinnick - Bosworth

Mark Field - Cities of London and Westminster

Mark Prisk - Hertford & Stortford

Michael Fallon - Sevenoaks

Nick Hurd - Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner

Glyn Davies - Montgomeryshire

Hugo Swire - East Devon

Jeremy Lefroy - Stafford

Caroline Spelman - Meriden

Claire Perry - Devizes

Jo Johnson - Orpington

Keith Simpson - Broadland

Sir Alan Duncan - Rutland and Melton

Alastair Burt - North east Bedfordshire

David Lidington - Aylesbury

Mark Lancaster - Milton Keynes North

Mims Davies - Eastleigh

Patrick McLoughlin - Derbyshire Dales

Peter Heaton-Jones - North Devon

Sarah Newton - Truro and Falmouth

Seema Kennedy - South Ribble

Ross Thomson - Aberdeen South

Ed Vaizey - Wantage

Liberal Democrat

Vince Cable - Twickenham

Norman Lamb - North Norfolk


Amber Rudd - Hastings and Rye

Rory Stewart - Penrith and the Border (standing to be Mayor of London)

Justine Greening - Putney

Ken Clarke - Rushcliffe

Nick Boles - Grantham

Alastair Burt - North East Bedfordshire

Guto Bebb - Aberconwy

Richard Harrington - Watford

Oliver Letwin - West Dorset

Nicholas Soames - Mid Sussex

Richard Benyon - Newbury

Joan Ryan - Enfield North

Philip Hammond - Runnymede and Weybridge

Related Stories

Authored by

George Salmon
Political Editor
October 26 2019

Featured Organisations


Bericote are one of the most active developers of distribution space in the UK, with over 4.8 million square feet developed over the past three years ... Read more


RHP Group, according to CEO David Done, is an innovative housing provider with a strong social purpose: providing good-quality, affordable homes and m... Read more

Batley Girls High School - Visual Arts College

Batley Girls’ High School, serving the Batley and Dewsbury communities, has a very strong track record of challenging poverty of aspiration, strengthe... Read more

Latest News

Sharma pleased with Brazil climate mission

New UKGI Chair appointed